I Thought I Was Aware

Tim STowell
2 min readNov 30, 2023

I Thought I was Aware

I thought I was aware
I knew a little boy when I was a child

I put money in jar on a counter

I bought a couple candy bars

I thought I was aware
I watched Terry Fox run

I read the flyers and postcards

I met a mom on a training run

I thought I was aware
I ran a marathon to raise money

I served on a committee

I ran a marathon to raise money

I thought I was aware
I listened to a mother’s tale of her daughter’s journey

I ran a marathon to raise money

I watched the commercials on tv

I thought I was aware
I heard the words “Ben has osteosarcoma”

I walked into the clinic

I saw the hopeful smiles

I thought I was aware
I watched the chemo drip into his body

I pushed his IV pole through hospital halls

I slept alongside his bed

--

--

Tim STowell

People have told me many times I have led an interesting life. I share my experiences and thoughts. Father, Artist, Teacher, Speaker, Writer, Student of Life.